As I have said in the past, my biggest goal in life is to live off of my writing. I have always wanted to own my own business, working for myself instead of working for someone else for a salary. I’m not saying that working for a salary is a bad thing, it’s just not the kind of lifestyle I want to live. I want there to be a direct correlation between how hard I work and how much money I make; I want to have the freedom to be able to work from anywhere I want and not have to get permission to take time off for vacations. While some employers can be super flexible, you still need to give them a fair bit of warning before you need time off.

That’s one of the reasons that I am not stressing so much about getting a full-time job. Right now I have a part-time job at an amazing company where I am constantly bringing home over $500 every paycheck. I also have a few freelancing jobs that bring in around that same amount. Sure it’s not a ton of money yet, but it’s enough for me to pay my own bills while I work on saving up money. Thankfully, I still live at my parents’ house, which makes saving money a little easier at the moment. That could change soon and I want to find a few more freelance jobs before that happens.

entrepreneur-593357_960_720

I have been extremely lucky in the gigs I have gotten. One of my jobs is with an up and coming social media platform called Holonis. I am actually contracted by them so I have a set amount of money I can rely on from them every couple weeks. Another one of my gigs is through a company called Lowpost. They originated in Spain and are super successful over there. They have decided to expand to the US and I decided to try them out. I originally signed up to be a writer, but they ended up reaching out to me to see if I would like to become an editor and evaluator. Currently, the pay isn’t’ as stable as what I make from Holonis, but it’s definitely worth it and is a great experience for my career too.

macbook-577758_960_720

There are other things that I am working on as well, but not really something I’m able to talk about at the moment. I will definitely talk about it as soon as I’m allowed to because there’s an interesting story behind it. For now, I’m just grateful for the opportunities I have been given and I am going to use my connections to my advantage.

notebook-1757220_960_720

Since there are most likely others out there that are trying to break into the world of freelance writing like I am, I have decided to chronicle what I have learned on this blog as a way to share what I learned. I actually got this idea from listening to a podcast, Portrait of a Freelancer, and searching for more things out there like it. Since I couldn’t find any, I decided to start my own. I’m not sure how often these will be posted, but I will definitely try for at least once a month.

At the moment, I will just continue to work on my own projects and this blog while I still don’t have too many freelance jobs. I am taking another step towards my dream of being a published author by making sure I’m spending time on my own projects while also getting paid to write for others.

3 thoughts on “Tales of Becoming a Freelancer – The Beginning

Leave a comment